Lesson Topic:
How to Use the New Scheduling Tool

Audience:
School Deans, Department Chairs, Senior Administrative Assistants

Lesson Objective:
Given background information about the new scheduling process and a video tutorial, administrators and staff members will be able to input data into the new scheduling tool correctly.

Background:
Beginning Fall 2014, a new scheduling process will be implemented using Microsoft Excel. Schools will input schedule information into an Excel spreadsheet and submit the schedule to the Office of Instruction for approval. Revisions will be made to the spreadsheet based on mutually agreed upon recommendations. Upon final approval, the Scheduling Analyst will upload the spreadsheet to the Instructional Management System. This process will replace the manual entry of the schedule.

Documents/Links:

Feedback:
Please post all comments and questions to the blog. Open dialog will help work out any problems that might be discovered with our initial run.

******

Creating the Presentation

For this presentation I created a video tutorial using screencast-o-matic (SOM). Prior to recording, I planned my presentation by creating a transcript in notepad. This would allow my audio to be free of distracting hesitations or mistakes and would ensure that I hit all of the major points. Using SOM and my built in microphone, I then recorded my computer screen and my voice while I performed the steps, physically and verbally, of adding a class to the scheduling tool. Once the recording was complete, I reviewed the video to determine the timeframes where I read each of the comments. I then added those timeframes to each of the comment lines in the notepad file and uploaded the file to SOM. SOM converted the file of comments into actual captions that appear on the video during the timeframes I specified. Finally, I uploaded the completed video to YouTube.

I chose to use SOM because it was free, did not require any software downloads, was easy to use, provided tools for captioning and I was able to find many different tutorials on YouTube on how to use the program. I chose to upload the video to YouTube and send a link because of the size of the file.

The video tutorial and related content offers one-way, asynchronous communication; the main intent of the lesson is to provide how-to information. However, the blog allows for feedback which creates an opportunity for two-way communication. The media richness of the lesson is low to medium; the content does not allow for instant feedback but the video does transmit verbal cues and uses natural language. There is also a level of social presence because the content is transferring information, and in the case of the video, the communication is in the trainer’s own voice.

For those with visual disabilities such as color blindness, the blog and documents were typed in high contrasting colors; black font on white background. Also, for those with visual disabilities, the video includes step-by-step audio instructions. For those who are hearing impaired, a typed transcript of the audio is available along with closed captioning on the video screen. These steps were taken to ensure ADA compliance.

